I suck at blogging regularly...

04/10/2013 08:46

 

I don't know if it's a creative person thing (I'm a writer as well as a musician, so I'm doubly cursed) or a busy mom thing, but I just can't seem to keep all the balls in the air at once.  If I decide to really get ahead in my writing, which I did last week and this week, churning out over 2000 words a day, then my marketing plan suffers.  If I focus on marketing and getting my book out there in the public eye, which I did two weeks ago, I go through a weird writing withdrawal, and absolutely crave writing, much like I crave chocolate at times.  It's not pretty.  

 

And to add insult to injury, literally, or more correctly, add injury to insult, I have recently developed the dreaded "writer's butt".  When I write, I sit down at my desk and generally don't get up for hours.  I get in kind of a zone, and, if bothered, might come across a bit crabby.  Just ask my husband.  The problem is, when your butt doesn't leave the seat for a considerable amount of time, it doesn't get enough circulation, and you can get a breakdown in tissue similar to a bed sore.  Gross, right?  But it's a thing, and I think I may have the start of one.  I think it's high time to get out the stability ball I never used for exercise and make that my new executive chair.

 

So, I'm trying this week to do a mix of marketing and writing and see how that goes.  Can I do both each day and find a good balance between business and creativity?  I honestly don't have the answer to that question.  I think the main problem is that there just aren't enough hours in the day, and that's one thing I can't change.  I suppose if I were selling millions of copies of my book and royalties were coming in by the truckload, I could hire someone to do the marketing for me, but until then, it's just me, myself, and I, and between us, myself and I are kind of slackers.