Laura Chapman's THE MARRYING TYPE Blog Tour Stops Here!

04/13/2015 16:39

 

Today I welcome my author friend, 

Laura Chapman, to my blog to chat about

how Jane Austen inspired modern books and movies!

 

Don't miss the giveaway at the end of the article.  Take it away, Laura!

 

I enjoyed Jane Austen reimaginings before I even realized they were a thing. One of my favorite movies growing up was Clueless, which is a modernization of Emma. From then, I’ve gone on to read and watch other contemporary adaptations, so is it any wonder I went on to write one?

 

My new novel, The Marrying Type, is based on Austen’s Persuasion, told with a modern and American twist. In honor of contemporary Austen retellings, here’s a list of ways some of these stories have been part of my life.

 

1. I dressed as Cher from Clueless for Halloween in fifth grade. While the costume wasn’t perfect (How can you recreate Cher’s expensive and flawless style when you’re 10 and shopping at a cheap, second-hand store?), but I had a blonde wig, gold high-heel shoes, and my best friend dressed as Tai.

 

2. Bridget Jones’s Diary was my gateway to chick lit and Austen. I read the book based on the advice of a friend, and after finishing it on a sick day my junior year of high school, I picked up the sequel. Thus began my mass consumption of chick lit novels. And after learning the books were based on Austen (Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion respectively), I spent the summer reading a few of her most famous works. Senior year, I revisited Pride and Prejudice during AP English. (No big deal, but I earned an A on both my paper and presentation.)

 

3. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and Emma Approved gave me an enjoyable mid-morning coffee breaks twice a week for months on end. These clever web series inspired me to consider convergence as a form of storytelling and challenged me to make my modern adaption (which already had a first draft) shine as much as it could. If you haven’t already watched either of these series, you might as well start now:

 

 

4. Austenland was the ultimate pool-side read and later summer storm watch. I finally checked out the book and movie last summer, and loved them both, though each is different. I read the book on a sunny Monday afternoon by the pool and I watched the movie during a thunderstorm the next evening. That’s Nebraska for you.

 

5. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies served as the inspiration for my best literary-themed painted pumpkin ever. Just take a look at it:

 

 

Have you read or watched any modern Austen tales? Which ones are your favorite?

 

Thanks so much to Caroline for having me on the blog today!

 

Author Bio:

Laura Chapman is the author of The Marrying TypeHard Hats and Doormats and the Autumn and Tuck series, which appear in Merry & Bright and A Kind of Mad Courage. A native Nebraskan, she loves football, Netflix marathons, and her cats, Jane and Bingley. Until she fulfills her dream of landing a British husband or becoming a Disney princess, you can find her in a bar penning her next novel.

 

Connect with Laura!
 

Twitter: @lmchap
Facebook: laurachapmanbooks

Instagram: @lmchap614

 

Website: www.laurachapmanbooks.com
Blog: www.change-the-word.com

 

Find the Book!

Amazon: https://bit.ly/themarryingtype

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-marrying-type-laura-chapman/1121256561?ean=2940151308946

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25009611-the-marrying-type

 

Always the wedding planner, never a bride, Elliot Lynch is famous for orchestrating the splashiest weddings in Charleston, South Carolina. When her father’s sloppy management practices leave them on the brink of bankruptcy, Elliot will do whatever it takes to save the family business. When asked to appear on “The Marrying Type,” a reality TV show about the people behind the scenes as couples exchange I dos, she says yes to the invasion of privacy (and the hefty paycheck that comes with it). 

With a camera crew capturing every detail of her life, Elliot faces her most challenging contract yet: planning a wedding where her ex is involved in every part of the process. Add in a lazy assistant, liquor-loving bridesmaid, and rival planner encroaching on her turf, and Elliot’s wedding season goes from high-end to high-stress. 

Forced to confront her past, Elliot must live out her troubled present on national TV if she has any hope of saving her future. 

 

Follow Laura's Chick Lit Plus Blog Tour!

 

April 6 - Christy Herself –  Excerpt

April 7- The Book Bag – Review, Guest Post & Excerpt

April 8 - Sultry, Steamy Reading – Review & Excerpt

April 9 - eBook Addict – Q&A

April 9 - Living Life With Joy – Guest Post & Excerpt

April 10 - Chick Lit Plus – Review

April 14 - Caroline Fardig – Guest Post

April 15 - Cindy Arora – Q&A

April 16 - Annabel & Alice- Review

April 17 - Ai Love Books - Review

April 21 - Kaisy Daisy’s Corner – Review & Excerpt

April 22 - Doorflower – Guest Post

April 23 - Book Mama Blog – Excerpt

April 24 - Two Children and a Migraine – Review

April 27 - Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock – Review

April 28 - Novel Escapes – Q&A

April 29 - Chick Lit Club Connect – Guest Post

April 30 - Terry’s Book Addiction – Review & Excerpt

May 1 - Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

May 4 - Polished and Bubbly - Review

 

And don't forget about the giveaway!

 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway