Kathryn R. Biel's new novella will get you in the holiday spirit!

11/05/2015 08:43

 

Just in time for the holidays comes

Kathryn R. Biel's

Completions and Connections!

 

I had a hard time deciding which of the two excerpts Kathryn sent me to use.  After I read them, I went out and bought the book immediately.  (I connected with Christine's epic skiing fail.)  The meet-cute in this story is ADORABLE!  Get your copy now!  Buy links below.

 

 

Blurb:
 
Christine's list of resolutions contains many clichés. Try something new. Buy a pair of heels. Get a promotion. Fall in love. 
 
Seems simple, especially when Christine meets Patrick, the man who could be Mr. Right. He's got the right credentials: a job, a sense of humor, a love of all things Indiana Jones, and best of all, he's actually taller than Christine. But busy schedules take over and gets in the way of Patrick and Christine's budding romance. 
 
Life interferes, as it has a way of doing, and Christine wants to throw in the towel. Is the magic of the Christmas season enough to renew Christine's faith in love? 
 

 

Buy Links:

https://www.amazon.com/Completions-Connections-Romantic-Holiday-Novella-ebook/dp/B0157L16OU/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1442435591&sr=8-8&keywords=kathryn+r+biel

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/completions-and-connections-kathryn-r-biel/1122640599?ean=2940150834125

https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/completions-and-connections

https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/book/completions-connections-romantic/id1041148447?mt=11

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/577916

 

Excerpt:

"Michele, you've got to be kidding me!" I'm trapped. I can't move. And my best friend is laughing at me.

"C'mon Christine, you can do this. It's going to be fun."

"No, it's not. It's going to be torture. A cold, painful torture that ends with me in a body cast."

"You said you'd try new things this year. Isn't this number one on your list? This is what you need to bring you out of your shell. It will be good for you. Think of it as an item you can check off your list."

"My shell is just fine. I don't see how throwing myself down a mountain in sub-zero temperatures can possibly be good for me." But she knows she's got me. I'm a list maker, and nothing makes me happier than checking things off my lists.

Michele snaps her boot buckles and stands up. She looks like the perfect snow bunny, all cute and adorable in her snow pants and coordinating sweater. Her blond curls cascade perfectly down her shoulders, and no hat will flatten them or make her look bedraggled.

I look bedraggled before I even start. My hair is a dull, coppery brown. I can't call it red, and it's not regular brown. The closest description I can come up with is an old penny. It's straight. Like pin straight. And even attempts at perming have not been successful. Hot curlers, curling irons—nothing. Pin straight and boring.

Just like me.

"When I said new things, I meant maybe cutting my hair or getting highlights put in," I mutter, trying to buckle my boot. The layers of clothes are constricting, and I'm having trouble breathing bent over like this. The buckle finally snaps shut, and I return upright, only to find myself out of breath and lightheaded.

Not off to the most auspicious of starts.

I've got a bad feeling about this.

Michele, who grew up skiing, is itching to get out on the slopes. Despite the fact that I've lived in Upstate New York my whole life, I've somehow managed to avoid this particular form of torture thus far. I've signed up for a lesson and am starting a novena that I don't die on the chairlift.

I pick up my skis from the rental shop and awkwardly carry them outside. We find Michele's skis on the rack, and in a few swift moments hers are donned and she's ready to swoosh off. I'm still trying to figure it out. Michele lets out an exasperated sigh and pops her ski off. She goes through the process again, step-by-step. Finally, I have my skis on.

Except now I can't move. She uses her pole to point to where I have to go and she's off, gliding on the snow like a figure skater.

Do you know how freakin' hard it is to move on skis when you're not on a hill? Or worse, when you have to go uphill? Not to mention that in order to fit my 5'10" (Okay, 5'10 ¾". Fine. I'm 5'11") frame, my skis are the length of Delaware.

I'm exhausted by the time I get to the ski group. But then the embarrassment continues. I'm the only adult in the group. This is so not worth it. Checking one stupid item (try something new) off my resolution list is not worth it.

 

 

Kathryn's Bio:

Telling stories of resilient women, Kathryn R. Biel hails from upstate New York and is a spouse and mother of two wonderful and energetic kids. In between being Chief Home Officer and Director of Child Development of the Biel household, she works as a school-based physical therapist. She attended Boston University and received her Doctorate in Physical Therapy from The Sage Colleges. After years of writing countless letters of medical necessity for wheelchairs, finding increasingly creative ways to encourage the government and insurance companies to fund her clients' needs, and writing entertaining annual Christmas letters, she decided to take a shot at writing the kind of novel that she likes to read. Her musings and rants can be found on her personal blog, Biel Blather. She is the author of Good Intentions (2013), Hold Her Down (2014),I'm Still Here (2014), Jump, Jive, and Wail (2015), and Killing Me Softly (2015).

 

Social Media Links:

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

Amazon Author Central

Newsletter

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway