Guest Post by Louise Wise

04/16/2014 08:32

Thanks to fellow author Louise Wise for stopping by today to do a guest post!

 
Keep Calm and WRITE!
By Louise Wise
 
My writing process must be similar the world over with other writerly folk, but the one thing I do that’s automatic (and why I like to write alone) is that I act out, or talk myself through, difficult scenes. Say, for instance, I need to write an action scene:
 
Scene from Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love!
 
Suddenly all the wind was taken from my body as something painful smashed into my shoulder and spun me around. The sharp movement made my ankle give way inside my high heels, and I fell, my legs like Bambi’s, onto the grass. A grubby leather football rolled away, and a young man stood staring down at me with horror on his spotty face.
 
With the above, I’ll stand and spin sharply to the right as if something hard (the football) had knocked into me, this is because I need it clear in my head before I can type it, and reacting the scene is automatic.
 
I talk things through as well, especially accents, and with modern technology you can easily find a webpage that will pronounce all accents so you can spell them phonically. Lex from Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love telephoned Valerie pretending to be Irish:
 
‘David O’Brien for you, Miss Anthrope,’ Paul said.
I didn’t know any David O’Brien, nor was I expecting a call. I thanked Paul anyway and the call was put through.
‘Top of the morning t’you,’ said a very false Irish accent.
‘Lex.’
‘Tis a leprechaun, missus. I don’t know any Lex.’
I hung up.
 
I have to hear the accent before I can write it even though I didn’t go overboard with the accent.
 
My other process is that I tend to like alternating scenes. With Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love! the two main characters have their own scenes and one character, Valerie, is written in the first person and the second character, Lex, is written in the third.
 
Because of this style, I wrote the book first with Valerie’s viewpoint, and then started over with Lex’s. Then I merged the two ‘books’ together. It took a lot of patience but it was the only way I could monitor both characters. It also gave me scope to include the thoughts and feelings of Lex and get deep and personal to Valerie’s thoughts.
 
Oh no, I've Fallen in Love! is also half price all spring.

 
Thanks to Caroline for having me on her blog, and thanks for reading!
 

Louise Wise Bio and links

Married, with four children, Louise Wise lives in England. She is a pharmacist technician by day and a writer by night. She was educated in an ordinary state school and left without achieving much in the way of qualifications; you could say she was the result of a crap school. Hungry for knowledge she enrolled in an Adult Education centre and studied English, maths and creative writing. Whereas other young girls asked for makeup and clothes for their birthdays, she asked for encyclopaedias!

Louise Wise used her general love of romantic fiction and interest in astronomy to write her first book. The book received many rejections stating the novel was too original for the current market, until finally, an agent took the book on but subsequently failed to find a publisher for it. Instead of becoming despondent, it made Louise realise that becoming a published writer WAS possible. She turned her back on traditionally publishing, threw herself into the indie world and went on to publish her first chick lit book, A Proper Charlie and then Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love!

As for the ‘too original’ Eden it has been such a hit that Louise has now followed it up with the sequel, Hunted. So far, they are both selling well.

Links:

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/louise_wise

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thelouisewise?ref=hl

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/bookjunkies/

Blog: https://louisewise.com

 

_____________________________

Blurb: Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love!

On the surface, Valerie Anthrope was happy with her life. She had her own brokerage with Sunny Oak Insurance and was financially solvent. But once asleep, she was plunged into a world of nightmares that reminded her she was cursed.

And that meant she couldn’t fall in love. Ever.

Lex Kendal was a multi-millionaire. Women flocked to him, preened and flaunted for his attention. But one woman, Valerie, knocked him back. Hard. It dented his pride and Lex set out to convince himself he still ‘had it’ by pursuing her.

Only he found himself being needed in a way he never, ever, expected and, for once in his life, money wasn’t the answer.

________________________

Oh no, I’ve Fallen in Love purchase links

Amazon

Kobo

Nook

Apple iStore